My Top 5 Teaching Podcasts

My Top 5 Teaching Podcasts

Last year I found myself searching for as many resources on teaching and education that I could find. I found endless websites and blogs on the topic, which I will talk about in a future post. I became a member of instagram, twitter and pinterest in search of information and tips on becoming a better teacher.

The one resource that I found most helpful out of everything were podcasts. There is a podcast out there for virtually anything you could think about and if you search for education podcasts you will be overwhelmed by the list of stuff available to you.

After doing my own research I can now present to you my top 5 favorite podcasts that helped me get through the year.

The criteria to get into my top 5 is simple. 

  • Information and ideas are focused and clear to understand
  • Is there any entertainment value? (Nobody wants to listen to a boring podcast)
  • Can I actually use the information provided?
  • The content is not overwhelming (too long or confusing to listen too)
  • Most important, will it help my students and my classroom?

With that in mind here are my top 5 starting with my favorite at #1.

Vicki Davis education podcast

 

1. 10 Minute Teacher with Vicki Davis

As a teacher you sometimes feel a bit overwhelmed and don’t think there is enough time in your day for extra stuff like a podcast. Well Vicki has your back, because she understands your struggle and is here to help you with that. Understanding that time is valuable Vicki posts short 10 minute podcasts each weekday and provided you with great resources and ideas that you can implement in your classroom. Be sure to check out her blog as well at coolcatteacher.com which also has resources available to help you out with your school year.

Educational-podcasts-Bedley-Brothers

2. The Bedley Bro. 

I didn’t find the Bedley Brothers until late in the year but once I did I binge listened to everyone of them and it left me clambering for more! The Bedley brothers dedicate each show to an education topic such as game based learning, or flipped classrooms and they bring in an expert on the topic. The podcasts are fairly short so you don’t feel too overwhelmed and their message is to the point so you get the information clearly delivered. Check them out at bedleybros.podomatic.com or download them on your podcast app on your phone. They seem to be available on most platforms.

wttw_13660320213. TedTalks Education 

This might not technically be a podcast, but it depends on what podcast app or resource you use. I use the Podcast Addicts app for android and they have uploaded a large amount of TedTalks on education. You can also find them here if your can’t find them in podcast form. I don’t think I need to go into too much detail on TedTalks Education. They are fairly self explanatory. My favorite part about them is how you as a listener can scan through the library and find the presentations that work for you and cover the topics you feel you need help with.

1200x630bb (1)

4. #Edchat Radio

For those who are social media savy you will know there is a hashtag on twitter used by educators for topics surrounding our profession and to pose questions and ideas. The #edchat is a great place to go for ideas and to get answers on twitter and it has even spread to other platforms such as instagram and facebook. The #Edchat Radio podcast scans through the posts with the hashtag of “edchat” and they pick out the most interesting ones to them and talk about it on the podcast. This is a great way to keep up with the topics others educators are talking about on social media and has been fun to listen to the point of view of the hosts. Check it out here or find it on your favorite podcast app.

lewis_podcast_large

5. The School of Greatness with Lewis Howes

Don’t let the name trick you, this is actually not an education based podcast at all. The School of Greatness falls under more of the self-help or motivational genre of podcasts. I am not much of a self-help guys, or one to read endless books about how to be better or organize my life better, however, I have fallen in love with this podcast and blog. It has been helpful to me to stay motivated as I work through the difficulties of the first year of teaching. Also it has given me the motivation I need and some ideas on how to manage my work and home life and keep a balance between all of the directions I seems to be pulled in all the time. These podcasts aren’t necessarily short and he posts quite often so you might feel a bit overwhelmed by it. My recommendation is to scan through the titles of each podcast and find 2 or 3 that sound interesting to you. check them out and see what you think.

Podcasts are a great way to get information and ideas while going through your busy day. Find time to check some of these out for yourself and see what you think. I can tell you from experience that they changed the way I did things throughout the year and I feel those changes all improved my classroom as a whole.

2 thoughts on “My Top 5 Teaching Podcasts

  1. I love Ted talk the most out of all this and will definitely continue listening and watching them. Might try out others which is listed here too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

